The Mediterranean Center for Molecular Medicine (C3M), created in January 2008, is a joint research unit under the governance of Inserm (National Institute of Health and Medical Research) and Université Côte d'Azur (UCA). This research centre is dedicated to translational research into cancer, cardiometabolic diseases and infectious diseases. The association of researchers and clinicians working in C3M creates a synergy based on a common project at the interface between fundamental resarch and clinical research. The C3M is made up of thirteen research teams that maintain fruitful collaborations with doctors and clinicians from a dozen clinical departments of the Nice University hospitals.

More about C3M

Our research & innovation areas

Pexels

Cancer

C3M teams study the molecular and cellular mechanisms involved in cancers such as leukemia, lymphoma, melanoma, prostate, lung and liver cancer. They are also interested in the processes involved in therapeutic resistance and metastasis and in deciphering the tumour microenvironment. Our objectives are to gain a better understanding of these diseases and to identify new therapeutic targets in order to develop new treatments that are more effective and more individual. The research work carried out by our teams places C3M at the forefront of translational research in the field of cancer and has led to the creation of several biotechnology startups.

Adobe stock

Infection and inflammation

The C3M teams are interested in the processes of infection and normal or pathological inflammation. They study the cellular and molecular mechanisms that regulate the virulence of microbes and the immune response during infection or in metabolic diseases, skin diseases and cancers. The new therapeutic targets identified allow the development of drugs and therapies that place C3M at the forefront of translational research on infectious and inflammatory diseases. 

Shutterstock

Metabolic diseases

C3M teams study the mechanisms underlying the development of obesity and cardiometabolic diseases, including insulin resistance, type 2 diabetes, Metabolic Associated Fatty Liver Disease (MAFLD) and cardiovascular diseases. They are interested in the role of adipose tissue dysfunction in insulin resistance, the link between metabolism, immunity and inflammation in the development of cardiometabolic diseases and the progression of hepatic steatosis to Non-Alcoholic SteatoHepatitis (NASH). Our research aims to better understand the mechanisms of the development of these diseases, in order to identify new therapeutic targets and develop innovative therapies. Thanks to close collaboration with the clinical services of Nice University Hospital, the C3M is at the forefront of translational research on metabolic diseases.

Texte alternatif
Texte alternatif
Pexels
Jobs

Join the C3M teams

Whether you are an engineer, a technician, a post-doctoral fellow, a PhD student or a Master's student, at C3M you will find a stimulating and friendly working environment, with access to cutting-edge technologies on exciting research topics to build and develop the health of tomorrow together.

Read more
Pexels
Training

Training at C3M

C3M prepares students in Biology and Medicine for research careers in the fields of cancer, cardiometabolic diseases and infectious and inflammatory diseases. More than 15 PhD students defend their thesis at C3M each year. Each year, C3M also welcomes 25 to 30 students from the Biology and Medicine departments on Master's internships, as well as students with a two-year or engineering degree (BTS, IUT and Polytech Nice Sophia). The students benefit from personalized support for technical and theoretical training in research, the writing of their internship report or their thesis, and the oral presentation of their scientific work.

Le C3M, crée en janvier 2008 est une unité mixte de recherche dont les deux tutelles sont l’Inserm (Institut national de la santé et de la recherche médicale)et l’Université Côte d’Azur (UCA). Ce centre de recherche est dédié à la recherche translationnelle sur le cancer, les maladies cardiométaboliques et les maladies infectieuses. L’association des chercheurs et de cliniciens travaillant au C3M crée une synergie sur la base d’un projet commun à l’interface entre la recherche fondamentale et la recherche clinique. Le C3M est composé de treize équipes de recherche qui entretiennent des collaborations fructueuses avec les médecins et cliniciens d’une douzaine de services cliniques des centres hospitaliers de Nice.

En savoir plus sur le C3M

Nos secteurs de recherche & d’innovation

Pexels

Cancer

Les équipes du C3M étudient les mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires impliqués dans les cancers comme les leucémies, les lymphomes, le mélanome, ou encore le cancer de la prostate, du poumon ou du foie. Elles s’intéressent également aux processus impliqués dans la résistance thérapeutique et la métastase et à décrypter le microenvironnement tumoral. Nos objectifs visent à une meilleure compréhension de la maladie et à l'identification de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques afin de développer de nouveaux traitements innovants, plus efficaces et plus personnels. Les travaux de recherche menés par nos équipes placent C3M à la pointe de la recherche translationnelle dans le domaine du cancer et ont conduit à la création de plusieurs startups en biotechnologies.

Adobe stock

Infection et inflammation

Les équipes du C3M s'intéressent aux processus d'infection et d’inflammation normale ou pathologique. Elles étudient les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires qui régulent la virulence des microbes et la réponse immunitaire lors de l’infection ou dans les maladies métaboliques, les maladies de peau et les cancers. Les nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques identifiées permettent le développement de médicaments et de thérapies qui placent le C3M à la pointe de la recherche translationnelle sur les maladies infectieuses et inflammatoires. 

Shutterstock

Maladies métaboliques

Les équipes du C3M étudient les mécanismes à l'origine du développement de l’obésité et des maladies cardiométaboliques, incluant la résistance à l’insuline, le diabète de type 2, la stéatose hépatique d’origine métabolique (MAFLD) et les maladies cardiovasculaires. Elles s’intéressent au rôle de la dysfonction des tissus adipeux dans l’insulinorésistance, au lien entre métabolisme, immunité et inflammation dans le développement des maladies cardiométaboliques et à la progression de la stéatose hépatique vers la stéatohépatite non alcoolique (NASH). Nos recherches ont pour objectifs de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de développement de ces pathologies, afin d'identifier de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques et développer des thérapies innovantes. Grâce à des collaborations étroites avec les services cliniques du CHU de Nice, le C3M est à la pointe de la recherche translationnelle sur les maladies métaboliques.

Texte alternatif
Texte alternatif
Pexels
Emploi

Rejoignez les équipes du C3M

Ingénieur, technicien, post-doctorant, doctorant ou étudiant en Master: vous trouverez au C3M un environnement de travail stimulant et convivial, avec l'accès à des technologies de pointe sur des sujets de recherche pasionnants pour construire et développer ensemble la santé de demain.

En savoir plus
Pexels
Formation

Se former au C3M

Le C3M forme des étudiants en Biologie et en Médecine aux métiers de la recherche dans les domaines de la cancérologie, des maladies cardiométaboliques et des maladies infectieuses et inflammatoires. Plus de 15 doctorants soutiennent leur thèse au C3M chaque année. Le C3M accueille également chaque année 25 à 30 étudiants des filières Biologie et Médecine en stage de Master, ainsi que des étudiants en BTS, IUT ou encore en Ecole Polytechnique Universitaire. Les étudiants bénéficient d’un accompagnement personnalisé pour l'apprentissage technique et théorique des métiers de la recherche, la rédaction de leur rapport de stage ou de leur thèse ainsi que la présentation orale de leurs travaux scientifiques.